I Dare you to take a Nude Self-Portrait

To all my fellow bloggers out there…I have a challenge/dare for you. I challenge you to take a nude self-portrait. I recently took a few and found the process to be very positive. I used my self-timer and played with different angles and lighting until I got a few tasteful shots that I was happy with. Then I just made them black and white and Shazam! Instant Art. Below is one of my pics and I have another post with a few more. Comment and let me know what the process was like for you. I look forward to seeing what all you creative people come up with!

20140125-085652.jpg

20140125-133307.jpg

20140125-133355.jpg

7 Comments

  1. This is a great thought. Beautifully done. I may just have to try this

  2. As a male, I think the world is still to homophobic to appreciate male nudes. That is probably changing. Anyway, I am a bit old and out of shape.

  3. I’m already doing this… šŸ˜‰
    I started with self portraits in 2004 and I’m still doing it. I don’t know why, but I do it. And I will continue doing self portraits as long as I live.

  4. I think no matter what age and no matter what you look like you should feel comfortable with yourself. I’ve seen some really interesting, tasteful, nude portraits, of normal looking middle aged and elderly people. Some were overweight and some had aged skin or old tattoos that were beginning to fade. Maybe not (or even near) “vogue model attractive” but they made for some really interesting, somewhat beautiful photographs. I’m not saying that everyone should go out and take nude photos of themselves. Really, its whatever you’re into and comfortable with. However, I do think self confidence is one of the most important things a human being can have, and most people don’t have any of it. This is something I’m still struggling with…I’ve also done some nude portraits myself. At first I felt uncomfortable and awkward, but by the end of the photo-shoot I was having a ton of fun. I guess I sort of gained a bit of confidence and learned a lot about myself through my nude photo-shoot. The human body is beautiful. The more reason to handle it with care, stay healthy, and admire it.

    • I couldn’t have said it better! I have never felt as beautiful as I did after taking my own self-portraits. Some were awful and some were good. I learned how to position my body to look it’s best and that’s what models do! And they have photoshop and pro photographers as well. That is why I dared people to do this. It’s an exploration is self and i hope it will be a positive one for everyone that will make them appreciate their bodies more.

Leave a Reply

